Library Quality Standards (BIT)

ACRL-SAA Joint Statement on Access to Research Materials in Archives and Special Collections Libraries (July 2009)
ACRL Policy Statement on Open Access to Scholarship by Academic Librarians (June 2016)

Guidelines for the Preparation of Policies on Library Access (Dec. 1992)
Originally prepared by the ACRL Access Policy Guidelines Task Force December, 1992, these Guidelines were rescinded on October 27, 2006 at the Executive Committee meeting in Chicago. They have been superseded by the 2005 ALA Guidelines, available here.

• Standards for Libraries in Higher Education (February 2018)           
• Guidelines for University Library Services to Undergraduate Students (October 2013)
• Diversity Standards: Cultural Competency for Academic Libraries (April 2012)

• ACRL Statement on Academic Freedom (June 2015)
• Diversity Standards: Cultural Competency for Academic Libraries (April 2012)
• Guidelines for Academic Librarians Without Faculty Status (October 2011)
• Guideline on Collective Bargaining (June 2008)
• A Guideline for the Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure of Academic Librarians (June 2010)
• Joint Statement on Faculty Status of College and University Librarians (April 2018)
• Standards for Faculty Status for Academic Librarians (October 2011)
•  Statement on the Certification & Licensing of Academic Librarians (April 2018)
• Statement on the,Terminal Professional Degree for Academic Librarians (April 2018)
• Guidelines for Recruiting Academic LIbrarians (June 2017)

• Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education (February 2015, January 2016)   
  • PDF Version
  • Chinese Translation (PDF)
  • Framework WordPress site (for further resources)
• Roles and Strengths of Teaching LIbrarians (April 2017)
• Information Literacy Standards for Science and Technology (June 2006)
  • Chinese Translation (PDF)
• Information Literacy Standards for Anthropology and Sociology Students (January 2008) 
  • Chinese Translation (PDF)
•  Research Competency Guidelines for Literatures in English (June 2007) 
• Characteristics of Programs of Information Literacy that Illustrate Best Practices: A Guideline (June 2003)
• Objectives for Information Literacy Instruction: A Model Statement for Academic Librarians (Jan. 2001) 
• Information Literacy Competency Standards for Journalism Students and Professionals  (PDF) (October 2011)
• Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing (October 2013)
• Information Literacy Standards for Teacher Education (PDF) (May 2011)
• Guidelines for Instruction Programs in Academic Libraries (October 2011)             
• Psychology Information Literacy Standards (June 2010)
  • Chinese Translation (PDF)
• Political Science Research Competency Guidelines (PDF) (July 2008)
• Visual Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education (October 2011)

• Competencies for Special Collections Professionals (March 2017)
• Primary Source Literacy, Guidelines for (PDF) (February 2018)
• Guidelines For Interlibrary And Exhibition Loan Of Special Collections Materials (January 2012)
• Guidelines on the Selection and Transfer of Materials from General Collections to Special Collections,  (June 2016)
• Guidelines Regarding Security and Theft in Special Collections (September 2009)
• Standardized Statistical Measures and Metrics for Public Services in Archival Repositories and Special Collections Libraries (PDF) (October 2017)

• Guidelines for Curriculum Materials Centers (January 2009)
• Standards for Distance Learning Library Services (June 2016)
• Guidelines for Media Resources in Academic Libraries (January 2006)
  • Draft Revision (January 2018) (PDF)
• Assessment Librarians and Coordinators, Proficiencies for (January 2017)