An integrated library system, or ILS, is an enterprise resource planning system for a library used to track items owned, orders made, bills paid, and patrons who have borrowed.
An ILS is usually comprised of a relational database, software to act on that database, and two graphical user interfaces (one for patrons, one for staff). Most ILS separate software functions into discrete programs called modules, which are then integrated into a unified interface. Examples of modules include: acquisitions (ordering, receiving, and invoicing materials), cataloging (classifying and indexing materials), circulation (lending materials to patrons and receiving them back), serials (tracking magazine and newspaper holdings), and the OPAC (public interface for users). Each patron and item has a unique ID in the database that allows the ILS to track its activity.
Larger libraries use ILS to order and acquire, receive and invoice, catalog, circulate, track and shelve materials. Smaller libraries, such as private homes or small organizations and institutions (e.g. churches and synagogues), often forgo the expense and maintenance required to run an ILS and instead use a simpler library computer system which has limited functions.
General information retrieval systems have become more advanced. Search engines such as Google and online sellers such as Amazon have created user-friendly interactive systems which appear more attractive to users. Library communities are also making efforts to develop more sophisticated, user-friendly systems equipped with a federated search engines. A federated search engine can retrieve information from multiple subscription based databases (deep web), library holdings, and general web sources with one search query. Library communities are also increasingly looking into open source programs.
Integrated library system. (2018, March 3). New World Encyclopedia, . Retrieved 12:56, July 11, 2018 from http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/p/index.php?title=Integrated_library_system&oldid=1009482.
Content from New World Encyclopedia, this work is released under CC-BY-SA http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/
Integrated Library Systems Recorded Webinar from American Libraries Live May 2015
Join library experts and hundreds of your colleagues for interactive discussions on pressing issues in modern librarianship. American Libraries Live webcasts cover the full spectrum of library topics and give the ALA community a chance to learn about and discuss issues it deals with daily. Each program lasts 60 minutes.
© Copyright 1997-2018, American Library Association/ This document may be reprinted and distributed for non-commercial and educational purposes only, and not for resale.
Marshall Breeding - Independent consultant, Speaker, and Author; editor of Library Technology Guides, columnist for Computers in Libraries, Editor of Smart Libraries Newsletter
Library Technology Guides provides comprehensive and objective information surrounding the many different types of technology products and services used by libraries. It covers the organizations that develop and support library-oriented software and systems. The site offers extensive databases and document repositories to assist libraries as they consider new systems and is an essential resource for professionals in the field to stay current with new developments and trends. Relevant news items are posted daily on Twitter:
Computers in Libraries is a monthly magazine that provides complete coverage of the news and issues in the rapidly evolving field of library information technology. Focusing on the practical application of technology in community, school, academic, and special libraries, CIL includes discussions of the impact of emerging computer technologies on library systems and services, and on the library community itself.
Some of the published articles are free to access.
ALA TechSource, an imprint of the American Library Association, publishes:
The DIREKT Project Online Information Literacy (IL) Module Platform